Crohn’s & Colitis Awareness Week

Today marks the end of Crohn’s & Colitis Awareness Week, though for those who suffer from either condition, they will undoubtedly continue to be aware of that fact tomorrow and pretty much every minute of every day thereafter until a cure is found.

For those suffering (or friends and family of those who suffer), the fine folks at Crohnology have assembled a great collection of patient blogs and other resources about Ulcerative Colitis and Crohn’s Disease. Check it out here.

This entry was posted in Support, Ulcerative Colitis. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Crohn’s & Colitis Awareness Week

  1. Natashia says:

    Hi Ben. I am considering surgery and just read all of your story. Wow! I hope all is well with your little one. I know life after baby is a big adjustment. I am curious about what you plan to do next regarding surgery. After all you have been through, I’m sure it’s a difficult decision—especially now with a kiddo! Thanks so much for sharing your journey in such a realistic way—-it is helpful for someone like me who is having trouble making a choice. Best of luck to you!!
    Natashia

    • Ben says:

      Glad you found my site (and found it helpful). I know reading other people’s stories was extremely helpful when I was first considering surgery. I’m sorry to hear you’re sick and facing surgery; it’s a tough and scary decision. I can say this: all of my complications and difficulties notwithstanding, I don’t regret having surgery. I’ve been living with the ileostomy for over a year now since my emergency surgery, and although it’s not ideal (and is miserable at times), it’s soooo much better than being sick. I’m still not sure what I’m going to do. I think I will probably try the takedown surgery again at some point, but I’m in no real hurry. Life with an ileostomy is manageable and predictable, but given what happened last time, another takedown scares me. The devil you know… But whatever I do, I’ll definitely write about it. Good luck in your decision. If you have other questions or want to talk, I be happy to do so.

  2. myucjourney says:

    Hey Ben, how are things going? Are you still considering another go around for a reversal? Would love to know how you are doing!

    • Ben says:

      Thanks for the note! I’m doing well. Still contemplating a second try at a takedown, but a combination of life (new baby, new city, new job) and fear (my ileostomy is predictable and manageable, while life post-takedown is completely unknown) have put it on hold for now. Fortunately, I’m doing well health-wise so there’s no urgency.

Leave a Reply

