Stoma Stories, Episode 17: I Told You So

As predicted, the new ostomy appliance we decided to try to assist with the healing of the newly formed hole in my skin near my stoma failed.  I’m not sure when it started it leaking, though I suspect it was early on, but by 1am, it was a complete (and fairly epic) failure, requiring a middle-of-the-night shower (to clean the wound) and appliance change.  For now, I’m just using my standard 1″ Convatec convex wafer, but am planning to change it every 2-3 days (instead of every 4-6 days as I had been doing).  I’ll take slower healing over a leaky appliance any day.

This entry was posted in Complications, Ileostomy, J-Pouch, Stoma Stories, Ulcerative Colitis and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stoma Stories, Episode 17: I Told You So

  1. Pingback: Decisions, Decisions | Know Guts

Leave a Reply

