J-Pouch Normal; Skin Around Stoma, Not So Much

The worst part about my exam under anesthesia today was having to get up before 5 to make it to the hospital by 6; the procedure itself went off without a hitch (though I do have a banging post-anesthesia headache). My J-Pouch looks perfect. The minor irritation/inflammation they saw last time they looked (which itself wasn’t much cause for concern) is gone, and everything is totally normal. I am cleared for take-down surgery. But because we still haven’t really figured out what went wrong last time, if I decide to go forward with it, my surgeon will probably go in through my stomach abdomen (laparoscopically) to check the pouch from the outside, before going forward with the take-down. Still not sure what I’m going to do regarding the surgery. Probably keep thinking it over.

After the EUA, I went to see my nurse at the surgery clinic across the street so she could examine the newly formed hole in the skin next to my stoma. We removed my appliance, and she agreed it looked pretty gnarly, but it didn’t look infected. To be safe, she put me on Cipro to knock out any bacteria, and I’m trying a new appliance, which has a much thinner and more flexible wafer. The hope is a more flexible wafer will lessen the pressure and irritation on the damaged skin, allowing it to heal. I had been using a convex wafer, which works well for ileostomies, because they typically sit closer to the skin than colostomies. But my ileostomy sits up tall and proud, so we’re trying a regular wafer. So far, I don’t like it at all. It doesn’t have a belt attachment, which I’ve grown accustomed to. And I’m pretty sure the wafer is going to leak. But I’ll give it a shot. Other than that, the treatment is the same — calcium alginate, powder, barrier spray, and paste…

This entry was posted in J-Pouch, Stoma Stories, Surgery, Ulcerative Colitis and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to J-Pouch Normal; Skin Around Stoma, Not So Much

  1. Pingback: Stoma Stories, Episode 17: I Told You So | Know Guts

  2. Pingback: Decisions, Decisions | Know Guts

  3. Pingback: Getting Ready for Surgery | Know Guts

Leave a Reply

