Living Life

Apologies for the lack of updates, but I don’t have much to report.  I’m living life.  A couple of cross-country flights, a week-long business trip, concerts, parties, volunteering with “We the People” high school classes, and lots and lots of work—other than one low-grade fever for an afternoon, all with no issues.  I’m feeling truly healthy for the first time in years, and I’m grateful for that.  It’s not perfect.  I’m still sporting an ileostomy bag on my hip.  But I have control of my life.  When I go shopping, I don’t immediately scout the bathroom location in each store.  I don’t worry about driving at night for fear that I won’t be able to find an open restroom.  My mind is not constantly consumed with worry.  I’m just living—for the first time in years.

One of these days, I suppose I will need to make a decision about whether I will try the takedown surgery again.  But today is not that day.

Today, I’m OK with the bag.

Today, I’m well.

This entry was posted in Ileostomy, J-Pouch, Ulcerative Colitis and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Living Life

  1. Paul Miller says:

    Glad to hear it Ben. I know exactly how you feel, this past Christmas was the best in years and I ate like a pig. All the best to you.

  2. Diane Hall says:

    I’m so happy to hear you are doing so well and are so active. My daughter is doing the same. Back to work and living life again.

  3. Adam says:

    Ben, Congrats to you!!!! That’s GREAT NEWS!

    I hope this continues for you forever and that you make it through the rest of the winter with no sickeness(especially if you’re doing lots of cross coutnry air travel) get your Vitamin C going before those flights….

    Good luck to you in the coming months!
    -adam

  4. Pingback: Thinking Surgery | Know Guts

  5. tiffany says:

    Hey Ben, have you tried hollister drainable bag with velcro ? I have used the clip ones in the hospital and was paranoid 24/7. I’ve used the velcro since I’ve had the ileostomy and have had virtually no issues. I’m praying for you!

    • Ben says:

      Thanks, Tiffany. I tried the velcro for a bit, but I had lots of issues with wafer leakage, and the Convatec bags I use were the only ones that worked well. I think the clip catastrophe I had was a fluke. A horrible fluke, to be sure, but a fluke. If I continue to have issues, I may try a different appliance. In more important news, I’m happy to have found your blog and look forward to reading about your experience. I hope your recovery from surgery is speedy and full. Feel free to drop me a line if issues or questions arise, as I’ve seen just about everything with my ileostomy…

  6. Pingback: Where Things Stand | Know Guts

  7. Pingback: Stoma Stories, Episode 16: The Hole Truth (GRAPHIC PHOTOS) | Know Guts

Leave a Reply

