Remembering to Blog (Updated)

Yesterday afternoon, I came down with a low-grade fever, accompanied by achy legs, headache, and occasional chills. It never got too high (peaking around 100). After a couple hours, I started getting an intense internal pain near my tailbone. It felt like I sometimes feel when I need to expel mucus, but worse. It hurt when I sat, or laid, or applied any pressure to it. And, try as I might, I was not able to expel and mucus and relieve the pain. During the night, I woke up to find that my fever had broke and a small puddle of mucus. The tailbone pain was still present, but not as bad.

When I woke up this morning, I didn’t have a fever, but over the last few hours, my fever has returned. It’s now somewhere between 101.3 and 102.1 depending on timing and the thermometer used. Still nowhere near as high as I got in October in the hours leading up to my last surgery, but high enough to cause some concern. And the tailbone pain persists. Not as bad as yesterday, but bad enough.

I’ve been in touch with my doctors, and my surgeon is concerned that the pouch may have filled with liquid (perhaps related to the partial blockage and bag blowout I had a couple weeks ago?) and may be acting like abscess. Nothing’s been decided yet, but she’s leaning towards an exam under anesthesia to check things out. Not sure when. I’ll update when I know more.

Just when I thought I had finally turned a corner…

Update 1: Still waiting for final word from the docs about what, if anything, we’re going to do. In the meantime, my fever has dropped below 101, which is good.

Update 2: At the colorectal clinic now for a digital exam (awesome) and to see if we can get any fluid in my pouch to release. Unless we solve it today, exam under anesthesia first thing tomorrow. Fever’s all over the place.

This entry was posted in Ileostomy, J-Pouch, Surgery, Ulcerative Colitis and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Remembering to Blog (Updated)

  1. Adam says:

    Come on Ben, pull through this stuff!!!
    You can do it. Try to relax and keep calm, it sounds like you are.
    I don’t have any experience with this, but you will make it through everything. It sounds like you’ve got some really great doctors helping you out. Stay strong and take care.

  2. John Casey says:

    Hi Ben
    I hope things go better for you so you and your family can enjoy Xmas..
    Merry Xmas
    John

  3. Brett says:

    Good luck Ben! Hope that fever continues to go down and your exam (if any) shows everything in good shape.

    -Brett

Leave a Reply

