Happy Thanksgiving

Reading this blog and my litany of complications and complaints, it may not seem like it, but I have an awful lot to be thankful for this year.

  • My health. Although I certainly have had my troubles since my first surgery, for the most part I haven’t been sick. No more sprints to the bathroom. No more scouting a bathroom wherever I go. My wound finally seems to be healing (with the help of the enzymatic deb rider and calcium alginate), which is a relief. Oh, and I survived three major operations, which is always a good thing.
  • My wife. I couldn’t have done any of this without her. Truly above and beyond the call of duty.
  • My doctors and nurses. Period.
  • My employer. Supportive and generous through my first surgeries, I have little doubt they’ll come around on my last one. Not having to worry about making ends meet definitely makes surgery and recovery easier.
  • My friends and family. It takes a special kind of person to crack jokes about intestines and poop. Fortunately, I’ve got quite a few of those people in my life.

And so much more. Happy Thanksgiving, one and all!

This entry was posted in Ileostomy, J-Pouch, Surgery, Ulcerative Colitis. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Thanksgiving

  1. Gail C. says:

    Happy Thanksgiving, Ben; to you and your entire family!

Leave a Reply

