Stoma Stories, Episode 10: “It does look a bit … ugly …”

That was the response from my surgeon after seeing the picture of my stoma incision (link to graphic photo), which appears to have separated and is definitely having a difficult time healing. I’m heading into clinic this afternoon so they can take a look and we can come up with a plan.

My associated pain is steadily worsening and, given the location of the wound (under my ileostomy appliance wafer), I’m not convinced it will be able to heal completely (or quickly) without some intervention. Last time, I ran into all kinds of difficulty with skin irritation around my stoma. Once it takes hold, it’s very difficult to reverse (it took more than a month to resolve last time), so it’s definitely best to try to nip it in the bud. So, as much as I’ve enjoyed being away from the hospital for 10 days, I’m very happy to be going back this afternoon so we can (hopefully) figure this out.

This entry was posted in Ileostomy, Stoma Stories, Surgery, Ulcerative Colitis and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stoma Stories, Episode 10: “It does look a bit … ugly …”

  1. Pingback: Stoma Stories, Episode 11: “It’s going to hurt for awhile.” | Know Guts

  2. Pingback: Stoma Stories, Episode 16: The Hole Truth (GRAPHIC PHOTOS) | Know Guts

Leave a Reply

