Weird Stuff (UPDATED)

Last night was one of the weirdest nights yet. Here’s a note I just sent my docs…

Hi [Doctors/Nurses],

I wanted to give you a quick update following my last message. I’ve been following the two Imodium at meals/bed and no Metamucil regimen, and it seems to have helped a bit. On Tuesday and Wednesday, my system slowed down quite a bit, such that I wasn’t in constant discomfort/pain and was able to get some rest. But last night, things got weird.

Immediately after dinner, my stomach began to hurt (nauseous-like, but no vomiting). Shortly thereafter, my entire torso began to ache terribly. It seemed to start under my left rib cage (opposite from the stoma scar) and spread up my back and into my shoulders. The pain was excruciating and I have absolutely no idea what could have triggered it. It felt as though I had simultaneously and seriously strained every muscle in my upper body. I’ve never felt anything like it. I also had mild chills and a low fever (100.17). When the pain didn’t improve, I called the on-call doc, who said there was basically nothing she could do over the phone and I should just see how it goes. If my fever reached 101.5, I should call or come in. I took a soma, the last of my percocet, and rubbed some anti-inflammatory cream on my back. The pain improved a bit, the fever came down, and I was able to go to sleep. When I woke up this morning, I had pain across the front of my stomach (it feels like internal or muscle pain, but it’s tough to tell) and am beginning to experience the extreme pain in my shoulders (weird). When I first woke up, I had no fever, but it’s now 101.67 fluctuating between 99.59 and 100.44, and I have minor chills (ugh).

I have an appt tomorrow morning, so I’m not sure there’s anything to be done today (other than watch my fever), but I wanted to bring you up to date. As ever, any thoughts/suggestions are welcome.

Thanks,

Ben

This entry was posted in J-Pouch, Recovery, Surgery, Ulcerative Colitis and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weird Stuff (UPDATED)

  1. John Casey says:

    Hi Ben
    Sorry to hear your having such a rough time.
    You ask for suggestions. If I was you I would try another DR. and see if they can help you better.
    You have nothing to loose and every thing to gain.
    Good luck
    John

  2. Pingback: Thinking Surgery | Know Guts

  3. Pingback: Where Things Stand | Know Guts

  4. Pingback: Decisions, Decisions | Know Guts

Leave a Reply

