Slow.

My recovery, not my digestive process. Although I saw some positive effects from the BRAT diet yesterday, with only a handful of bathroom breaks during the day, last night was another story. For lack of a better word, it was terrible. I managed to sleep from about 11 to 1:30, but from 1:30 until I finally gave up and just started by day, I don’t think I slept more than 15 minutes consecutively, with literally dozens of trips to the bathroom. The biggest issue was gas, which caused pressure/pain in my J-Pouch, and which I was either unable to pass or unable to pass “safely”. There was not a lot of output volume, but there was a lot of output. It was extremely unpleasant and easily the worst night I’ve ever head bowel-wise, including when I was sick with UC. I’m only a week out of surgery and only a few days on solid food, so I’m not yet overly concerned. I still have faith that it will get better in time. Today has been a bit better, but I also haven’t really eaten anything, which I suppose I will have to do at some point. For the time being, I am moving to a BAT diet, as I seemed to do better on toast than rice.

This entry was posted in J-Pouch, Recovery, Surgery, Ulcerative Colitis and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Slow.

  1. Pingback: Thinking Surgery | Know Guts

  2. Pingback: Getting Ready for Surgery | Know Guts

Leave a Reply

