Going Home After Lunch

The doctors say everything looks and sounds great, so they’re sending me home after lunch. They’re going to leave my staples in because (a) it’s only been 5 days, and (b) I’ve been on steroids for awhile, which can slow wound healing. I’ll have them removed in clinic in a week or two. They’re also going to release me on the same ridiculously slow prednisone taper as last time (20mg over 14 weeks!), but said I should talk to my surgeon about speeding it up when I see her in clinic. I really don’t want to be on steroids for another 14 weeks (even at low doses), and I think we should be able to speed up the taper quite a bit—especially given that I was nearly weaned completely when I came in for surgery, so it’s really just the surgery bump we’re tapering.

And that’s about it. Pretty much kicked the hospital’s butt—just like last time. However, I’m really hoping that, unlike last time, I continue to improve at home. Low-fiber meals, good books, and Netflix streaming, here I come…

This entry was posted in Ileostomy, J-Pouch, Recovery, Surgery, Ulcerative Colitis and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Going Home After Lunch

  1. John Casey says:

    Ben
    When your mail comes its all grey. I had to go on the internet to read how yor doing. I don’t know what can be done to correct the problem with the post thats mail to me. All other mail that comes to me from other people are ok>

    Good luck Ben.
    Your doing so good.
    John

    • Ben says:

      Thanks, John. I don’t send you email. When you subscribe to the blog, you’re automatically sent a copy of my posts by email, but I have no control over it.

  2. Hi Ben
    I have Colisits and a rought time. I’m glad your post is on and hope you keep doing well.
    Good Luck
    Geore

Leave a Reply

