No News is Good News. Full stop.

This is the longest I’ve gone without a post since my surgery. I just didn’t have anything interesting to share. I’m still plugging along, trying to get back into a work routine. Some days my body cooperates, and I’m able to work full days and feel like a “real” lawyer again. Other days, my body fights me every step of the way and I throw in the towel. I’m fortunate to have a job that, for the most part, gives me the flexibility to take off when I need to. Dealing with the bag at work (or in public generally) has become fairly routine, and I’ve not yet had any major catastrophes. All good.

As for my actual health, things definitely seem to be trending in the right direction. I still have bad days, or bad hours, but overall, I’m feeling OK (not great, but OK) more of the time. The EUA staple removal did not miraculously cure my back pain, which is still disrupting my sleep. And I’m still having issues with painful skin irritation around my stoma (though it too seems to be slowly improving). But the miscellaneous pains, cramps, and aches have become less frequent and less intense.

Having never been through this (or anything remotely like this) before, it’s difficult to know what “normal” is. Every day seems to be a new “normal” for me. I’m pretty sure my stoma causes me more discomfort than it should, but it’s becoming tolerable (at least short-term). I know my back shouldn’t hurt like it does, but I don’t know what’s causing it (or if it’s even directly related to my surgery). So I just deal with it (and may look into physical therapy at some point). In the back of my mind through all this is the mythical “Late September.” I can deal with just about anything knowing that my takedown surgery will happen soon and I’ll be on my final road to recovery. It’s a bit of dangerous game, because any number of things could happen to further delay my takedown, but I choose to remain optimistic and will cross that bridge if I come to it.

This entry was posted in Ileostomy, J-Pouch, Surgery, Ulcerative Colitis and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No News is Good News. Full stop.

  1. Pingback: See-Saw | Know Guts

  2. John Casey says:

    Hi Ben
    I want to wish you and your family a Happy Thanks Given.
    I hope your doing better.
    Please leave us a post on how your doing today.
    John

Leave a Reply

