Forcing Normal

My home nurse visit yesterday was largely uneventful. Not surprisingly, she had no silver bullets for the issues I’ve been having with my stoma. We’re going to try a different size and style of appliance to see if it makes a difference, but I’m resigned to the fact that my ileostomy is likely to be an uncomfortable, at-times painful, annoyance until my takedown surgery. I’ve been discussing the issues with my surgeon, and we decided to move up the J-Pouch examination under anesthesia to next Tuesday. So I will hopefully have a better sense of the leak and timing for my takedown next week.

I returned to work again yesterday (after last week’s aborted attempt), working a half-day. And by “working,” I mean mostly sitting at my desk and clearing through email. I went in again today and put in almost a full day, including some actual billable work. It’s been OK, though I plan to talk with the Powers That Be about a reduced schedule and/or working from home arrangement. Unfortunately, the placement of, and pain associated with, my ileostomy does not mix well with business casual attire (even with suspenders!) and sitting at a desk for 8+ hours. After 4-5 hours, I’m just tired and my back pain builds. At times, I’ve also had to close my office door and untuck the bag from my pants to sit more comfortably (fair warning to my work colleagues, knock first). But mostly it’s gone well. At this point, I’m just trying to figure out what my body can handle and what makes sense from a work standpoint. It’s good to be out of the house and semi-productive again, even if it is somewhat forced. Here’s hoping it lasts and gets easier.

This entry was posted in Complications, Ileostomy, J-Pouch, Surgery, Ulcerative Colitis and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

