Update: Back to UCSF

I spoke with my NP today about my persistent skin irritation around my stoma and intense back pain. Regarding the former, she suggested placing Maalox (after allowing it to separate and pouring off the liquid) on the irritated skin during my next bag change. Unfortunately (or fortunately?), I apparently didn’t get a good seal when I changed the bag yesterday and it started to leak today, so I changed it again and tried the suggested Maalox treatment. No noticeable improvement yet. And, yes, I still hate changing the bag.

As for my back pain, I was a little surprised that she didn’t just tell me to suck it up or write it off as some fleeting phenomenon relating to my sleeping position. Instead, she ordered me back to UCSF tomorrow morning for a contrast X-ray (CT Pouch-o-Gram) to check for leaks in my J-pouch (just like what they will do the week before my takedown surgery). She described this as a “worst-case scenario” that she wanted “to rule out right off the bat.” It’s not yet clear what it means if there is a leak—presumably they go back in and fix it? I’ll cross that bridge if I get there. For now, I’m just trying to stay positive and really hope it is not a leaky pouch. As much as I’d like to know the source (and solution) for my back pain, I obviously don’t want problems with my pouch. Just one foot in front of the other…

I’ll update again as soon as I know anything.

This entry was posted in Complications, Ileostomy, J-Pouch, Surgery, Ulcerative Colitis. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Update: Back to UCSF

  1. i hope they can find the source/solution for the pain and that it’s not a leaky pouch. looking forward to hearing the update. feel better soon!!!

    p.s. this is annie, but your blog automatically signed me in as “sushioverload” which seems like an oddly ill-fitting code name. grilled cheese overload i could see, but sushi?

  2. Ben says:

    Thanks, Annie. That’s weird about the sushioverload name. I have no idea how the comments work or why it would do that…

Leave a Reply

