Slow and Steady

I slept really well last night. So well that I didn’t click my morphine button for a few hours and woke up in A LOT of pain. Fifteen minutes and a few clicks later, and all was well. I’m settling into a routine of sorts. Check vitals, get steroids through IV, heparin shot to stomach, empty various drainage containers, walk a lap or two around the hospital, morphine, sleep/rest, repeat every 4 hours or so. Each time I get out of bed it’s a little easier (though it’s still by far the most painful part of my day), and walking is no big deal now. I can even almost stand up straight.

I haven’t had anything to eat or drink since Saturday and Sunday, respectively, but they’re keeping me “fed” with IV sugar water. I am still getting pretty good output to my bag, which is critical, so I’m hoping they may allow me some liquids today. But we don’t want to rush it before my bowel is fully awake because there’s a chance for blockage, which can set your recovery back a couple of days.

The ileostomy bag is still pretty weird. There is no sensation in the ileostomy, so you have no idea when it’s going to release gas or liquid. It just happens. It’s very strange. And it makes some odd gurgling sounds, which could be embarrassing in the wrong setting, I suppose. But I’m told you learn your ileostomy’s “clock” over time and can better predict when it will be active. Weird stuff.

My surgeon had jury duty yesterday, so I didn’t get to see her, which was a bit of a bummer. I’m really hoping she stops by today to talk about how awesome I’m doing. Onward.

This entry was posted in Ileostomy, Surgery, Ulcerative Colitis and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Slow and Steady

  1. Kari Coppinger says:

    Just caught up on your blog. Was one of those people who had no idea what you’ve been going through. Praying for your recovery process and a new lease on life. Appreciate your forthrightness in your writings. I’m sure that will bless others and not just those facing the same kind of decision.

    By the way, impressed that We the People gets a shout out even in the midst of your blog about your medical issues.

  2. John Casy says:

    All great news Ben….

Leave a Reply

