Twas the Day Before Surgery

I’ll be at the hospital in less than 24 hours. I begin my bowel right now (good times). I’ve squared away all of my work stuff, finally extracting myself and trusting others to pick up the slack in my absence. I’ve made a list of what I need to do to get ready for my hospital stay and what I need to bring (robe, slippers, pajamas, toiletries, Tempurpedic pillow, iPad). I’ve charged my various gadgets. I’ve teed up the books I plan to read (first up, The Hunger Games—don’t judge; when the morphine wears off, I’ll go back to In the Garden of Beasts). My mom gets into town later tonight. I’ve made a list of who I want my wife to contact when I come out of surgery. I’ve darkened my stoma marking so they can’t miss it in the operating room. We’re washing all the sheets and towels, and I’ll shower a couple of times with Hibiclens (to prevent infection). I’ve prayed a couple of times. I cried once. I’m as ready as I’ll ever be. A new life begins.

What I’m Looking Forward To:
  • Not being sick
  • Finally beginning a path to a better quality of life
  • Not having to debate whether surgery is the right decision (at the very least, the debate will shift to whether surgery was the right decision)
  • Confirming that the surgery was the right decision
  • Getting off the prednisone (eventually)
  • Some time off of work
  • Netflix streaming (and lots of it)
  • Not being sick
What I’m NOT Looking Forward To:
  • Post-surgery pain
  • My ileostomy (though I know I’ll get used to it)
  • My catheter
  • Having my catheter removed (they’ll put in when I’m asleep, but take it out when I’m awake)
  • Being in the hospital
  • Hospital food
  • Being away from my dogs for a couple of weeks
What I’m Afraid Of:
  • Complications during surgery
  • Complications during recovery (bowels that won’t “wake up”; small bowel blockages, etc.)
  • Post-surgery pain meds
  • My ileostomy (though I know I’ll get used to it)
  • Not getting used to my ileostomy
  • Complications preventing the takedown surgery and having to live with an ileostomy the rest of my life
  • My catheter
  • Having my catheter removed
  • Complications…
This entry was posted in Ileostomy, Support, Surgery, Ulcerative Colitis and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Twas the Day Before Surgery

  1. John says:

    I wish you the best !! Hope all goes well for you.

Leave a Reply

