One Week

Surgery #1 is one week away, and I’m ready. Driving home from visiting family in Sacramento today, counting the various places I’ve stopped to use the bathroom over the years, was as good of a reminder as any that my “normal” for the last few years has been anything but normal and no way to live. I’m ready to get on with my life.

I filled out my pre-surgery intake forms tonight. I bought a new robe and slippers for the hospital. My mother-in-law gave me some new pajama pants. Slowly, but surely, I’m getting all of my work stuff squared away (my employer and coworkers have been extremely supportive). I executed my advance directive. I’ve made a list of places I want to eat before surgery and have checked off most of them. I’ve made a list of all the things I need/want to bring to the hospital. I have my Netflix queue and some good books teed up for when I get home. I have my pre-surgery consultation, stoma marking, and MR Enterogram (one last check for Crohn’s) on Wednesday.

One week. Let’s do this.

This entry was posted in Flare, Surgery, Ulcerative Colitis and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One Week

  1. John Casy says:

    Good luck sir. I have Colitis for 7 hard years. Meds now not doing much good. I’m considering ending my life. I will NOT have a bag on my side.
    Your alot braver than I am.
    Again Good luck and I wish you the best.

  2. Ben says:

    Thanks for the support, John. I’m sorry to hear you’re having such a rough time with UC. Believe me, I know what it’s like — having suffered for years. You say you won’t live with a bag, and I share your reservations about it. But with the J Pouch surgery, the bag is temporary (2-3 months). I’d definitely suggest you explore that option and talk to some additional doctors and professionals for help. CCFA.org has support groups too. Suicide is definitely not the answer — not when there are solutions to the disease and various support options. Hope it gets better.

    • John Casy says:

      Ben
      This is my 3rd day on a new med thats really working. I have not felt this good in 7 years with Colitis. I want share this with you. Perhaps you have already try it.
      This med is call Gholestyramine. Its a powder that is mix with just about any thing but NOT tonic.
      The flovor I have is orange so I mix it with orange juice.
      You would need a DR to OK it for you to take. And a Pres. from the DR to purchase it,
      I did reach on the internet and found about 100 post of people who try it and found it work…
      With Colitis I went about 10 to 15 times a day. I was marrried to my toliet. Now on this med I go 1 to 3 times a day. Its hard to believe this works.
      This med is not made to treat Colitis but it WORKS
      Good luck Ben.
      John

      Good luck sir. I have Colitis for 7 hard years. Meds now not doing much good. I’m considering ending my life. I will NOT have a bag on my side.
      Your alot braver than I am.
      Again Good luck and I wish you the best.

Leave a Reply

